How to use STM32 and STONE HMI display to make coffee machine with touch screen operation?

Introduction

I am an MCU software engineer, recently received a project to make a coffee machine for household requirements with a touch screen operation. I choose the STM32 as it is kind of simple and easy MCU to use. I choose STONE’s touch screen display, the screen is simple and easy to use. My STM32 MCU uses UART for communicating with the display.

STONE serial LCD display screen, which can communicate through the serial port of MCU. At the same time, the logic design of the UI interface of this display screen can be designed directly by using the STONE TOOL Box provided by STONE’s official website, which is very convenient. So I’m going to use it for this coffee machine project.

At the same time, I will simply record the basic development. Since this is a project of my company, I will only record a simple demo and not write the complete code. Some basic tutorial about the STONE display screen available here: https://www.stoneitech.com/

The website has a variety of information about the model, use and design documentation, as well as video tutorials. I won’t go into too much detail here.

Coffee machine display screen function introduction

• This project has the following functions:
  • Displays the current time and date.
  • There are four buttons on the display for americano, latte, cappuccino and espresso.
  • Displays the current amount of remaining coffee beans, milk, and coffee sugar.
  • A text display box displays the current state.

With these concepts in mind, you can design a UI interface. STONE’s touch screens UI design is relatively simple. The STONE TOOL Box help you to design UI with good pictures into the screen and add your own buttons.

Make UI pictures for STONE display

According to functional requirements, I made the following two UI display interfaces, one is the main interface and the other is the button effect.